My To-Watch Drama List

I posted this initially over at AFF about a week ago as I continued to fight the slow internet (then, I got bored & decided to troll others with my weird stories, but that’s an entirely different story for another day XD).  Just some random thoughts as I jog down some titles so that I can refer back later on.  ^^”

Chinese Dramas:  

*HOLY MOLY, there are just way too many good Chinese dramas nowadays that I’m really having a hard time to keep track of my To-Watch list.  XD  Compare to just a few short years ago, Chinese productions have really up-scaled in quality.  Can’t say that I’m not impressed.

1) Nirvana in Fire – I’ve never been too much of a political geek (even though I love to study history), so I thought that I would be bored to death with this drama, and it didn’t help that Hu Ge is in it (I didn’t like his acting & projects all that much before).  But man!  Was I ever wrong.  I really enjoy this drama so far (but need to see where have I stopped because of moving).  I’m really glad that I took the netizens’ advice to check this out.  Also, Wang Kai has officially captured my heart with his handsome face & charismatic acting.

The drama that made me fall in love with Wang Kai & think twice about sneering at Hu Ge's acting again. XD

The drama that made me fall in love with Wang Kai & think twice about sneering at Hu Ge’s acting again. XD

2) Love Me If You Dare – Oh yes, I definitely dare to love Wallance Huo.  XD  But more than that, the plot really intrigues me with crimes, mysteries, & psychopaths.

I saw some comments criticizing Sandra Ma...but honestly, she's a decent actress, especially given that this is not actually an easy role to play. Based on my drama class experience back in the days, the psycho roles have always been the most fun & easy to play (if one finally lets himself go). Meanwhile, it's difficult to play the good & innocent guy.

I saw some comments criticizing Sandra Ma’s actress…but honestly, she’s a decent actress, especially given that this is not actually an easy role to play. Based on my drama class experience back in the days, the psycho roles have always been the most fun & easy to play (if one finally lets himself go). Meanwhile, it’s difficult to play the good & innocent guy (too much constraints, I supposed).

3) The Disguiser – Pretty much the same cast as Nirvana in Fire and interesting plot in an interesting era too.  When I was a child, I used to hate anything that has to do with this era (the glamourous Shanghai time just before World War II broke out).  But now, for some reasons, I enjoy watching dramas from this time era a lot.  O___o  I supposed it’s because I see the entertainment value in it:  the excitement, the uncertainty, the brotherhood, & the once-in-a-life time romance.

I'm so going to watch this right after "Nirvana in Fire" in case of any withdrawal. @___@

I’m so going to watch this right after “Nirvana in Fire” in case of any withdrawal. @___@

4) Sparrow – A drama in the Chinese Civil War era with Li Yifeng as the leading man!  ^^  I just hope the plot will shine through and isn’t just going to be carried by its idol cast.  Usually, Li Yifeng seems to make good calls when choosing projects, but still crossing my fingers.

I can't call myself a fan of both Li Yifeng & this particular chaotic era if I don't watch this. I really hope this drama will not disappoint since I actually don't particularly like the leading lady's acting.

I can’t call myself a fan of both Li Yifeng & this particular chaotic era if I don’t watch this. I really hope this drama will not disappoint since I don’t particularly like the leading lady’s acting.

5) The Old Nine Gates – The prequel to “The Lost Tomb” starring the charismatic dancer-singer-actor William Chan and EXO’s Lay (sadly, one of the few EXO members that I can actually stand these days…despite the fact that I used to love staring at all of them on my computer screen).  I think it’s very highly likely that this drama will surpass the quality of “The Lost Tomb” just because the author of the story will participate a lot in the production of the drama (a lot of book fans complained about The Lost Tomb but for someone who started out with the TV version first, I didn’t think it was that bad at all).

Since there isn't any official poster yet, here's a fan art that I've found for ya. Seriously, readers of "The Lost Tomb" fandom are just so artistically talented! O____O

Since there isn’t any official poster yet, here’s a fan art that I’ve found for ya. Seriously, readers of The Lost Tomb fandom are just so artistically talented! O____O

6) Ice Fantasy – Out of all the Chinese dramas I’ve listed thus far, I’m not particularly into the plot for this one at all…but I’ll be checking out the first episode or so just to admire Ma Tianyu & Victoria’s beauty.

I'm just putting Ma Tianyu here since he's my bias in the cast (second being Victoria). =P

I’m just putting Ma Tianyu here since he’s my bias in the cast (second being Victoria). =P

7) Wuxin: The Monster Killer – This is a bit dated, but it is still a 2015 drama!  I just need some kind of Chinese martial arts plus heroic drama to satisfy my constant craving for this particular genre.  ^^”

wuxin

Oh…I’m liking the poster already! ^^

Korean Dramas:

1) Reply 1988 – I have followed the previous two reply series and I really enjoyed them so I’m having high expectations for this one.  Plus Hyeri is in it!!  She’s such a cutie pie.  ^^  Particularly when it comes to the reply series, I wasn’t too obsessed with the romance aspect of it (aka finding out who’s the husband…because what’s this?  An RPG??).  Instead, I really love the heart-warming vibes that was shown throughout both series (the family, the friendship, the painful road of growing up, & etc.).

Based on the description of this drama, I can already agree with the casting director's decision.

Based on the description of this drama, I can already agree with the casting director’s decision.

2) Six Flying Dragons – I’ll be mainly watching this because I enjoy most of the cast’s charismatic acting (namely, Yoo Ah-In & Byun Yo-Han).  Usually, I’m not that into Korean period dramas. =/

Yoo Ah-In is my second favourite Korean actor right after Song Joongki. ^^ *blushing like a fangirl*

Yoo Ah-In is my second favourite Korean actor right after Song Joongki. >///<  *blushing like a fangirl*

3) Descendants of the Sun – I will absolutely be tuning into the first episode just for Song Joongki because honestly, I don’t dig this kind of story plots too much (but Joongki oppa has always been good at choosing projects….*le sigh* I’m not sure anymore).  However, if it managed to capture my interest in the first episode, I’ll be back for sure…otherwise, I’ll be waiting patiently for Joongki’s next project.  Boo hoo…=[

Did Song Joongki oppa just turned up the hot-o-meter? >///<

Did Song Joongki oppa just turned up the hot-o-meter? >///<

4) The Village: Achiara’s Secret:  I saw a few of some the cast’s projects before, but none of the cast members are people that I would follow their projects on a regular basis.  So I’m really just going to check it out because of the plot.  Hope it’s not too scary though!  @____@

Hm...I can't even stand 15 minutes of "The Walking Dead"...so this better not be too scary or gruesome. @____@

Hm…I can’t even stand 15 minutes of “The Walking Dead”…so this better not be too scary or gruesome. @____@

Japanese Dramas:

1) From Five to Nine – OMG, my friend told me that this is good, but I didn’t really bother checking it out even for the cast information because I read a few chapters of the manga before and I sorta rolled my eyes at the story.  HOWEVER, Yamapi is in it!  Just how can I not watch it for Yamapi??  Way before the whole K-pop hype around the world, he was the idol that I fangirl about.  *____*  But damn, how I wish that Erika Toda is the main leading lady instead.  My love for Erika Toda is eternal and I’ve always wanted to see her in a drama with Yamapi as the OTP that actually work out in the end.

Yamapi!!! *______* Oh, how I wish that leading lady is Erika Toda...

Yamapi!!! *______* Oh, how I wish that leading lady is Erika Toda…

3 thoughts on “My To-Watch Drama List

  1. I love that, according to people on WordPress, Nirvana in Fire is packed with smart characters and no one is a “vase.” To answer your previous question, one of my social media feeds, which has mainly K-drama bloggers and no C-drama ones, has been flooded with photos of “Su-gege”s and “Kakai”s. ^^ Too bad I’m already tied down by two other historical dramas, each with at least 50 episodes, so there’s no room for a third.

    I did take a quick glimpse of Love Me If You Dare and liked its quirkiness although the killing machine part was too macabre for my taste. =P But we really need more Asian dramas with sci-fi elements around.

    Do you guys manage the hotel part yourselves? That’s totally cool. I used to dream of opening a hostel for students from all over the world (don’t reveal my location …) but had no idea where to begin. It’s tough enough to rent an apartment, let alone a whole building. So good luck for your restaurant/bar/hotel!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol really didn’t expect K-drama bloggers to obsess over C-dramas. XD Usually, they (the K-drama enthusiasts) in general gave me the impression that they’re in a league of elites & exclusivity. ^^” For example, for more than a few occasions, whenever I spazz about C-entertainment stuff over on AFF, people would just pound on me with K-entertainment suggestions implying the latter is probably better than the former even though they’ve never gave the former a try. It’s quite amusing that whenever I spazz about K-entertainment, they would seem very encouraging, but whenever I touch any C-entertainment they would just try to “gear” me back onto the “right track”. XD

      Oh, two other historical dramas? Are they K-dramas? Please do share if they’re recommendable! =D Currently, I’m only thinking of watching the Six Flying Dragons because of the cast, since I don’t seem to find historical K-dramas to be as “meticulous” as historical C-drama in general. ^^” Haha…you might really want to consider watching Nirvana in Fire when you’re more freed up, it’s definitely a worthy drama to watch (& this is coming from someone who likes to turn away from heavy political-scheme dramas in general). It has 50+ episodes, but honestly the whole run doesn’t seem that long at all since not a moment is wasted as filler.

      Haha…I’m actually quite worry if I can stomach the killing machine part. @_____@ But yes, I agree about having more sci-fi elements in Asian dramas. I remember back in the days (probably still the same today) when TVB was the “it” drama production company, it did try to incorporate some of the more refreshing elements & genre (ie. sci-fi). However, the company pretty much called it quit & decided to play it safe ever since housewives complained about the “complicated” plots & confusing concepts. =/ With changing landscape in the ever competitive TV industry, I really think housewives’ complaints have crippled TVB’s creativity to a significant degree. And to think that now, all these housewives are tuning in to K-dramas or other Asian dramas instead. Constant complaining about their own people/product/etc., never feel satisfied with anything given, & thinking virtually all foreign products are better than their own local products are some of attitudes of a “typical” Hong Kong citizen that I seem to have the fortune to encounter over and over again. ^^”

      Yep, we managed everything ourselves. It’s a hotel in a small place, so nothing that can be compared to the city ones. lol XD Oh thanks! As for the price, it really depends on the location. Some places are definitely more expensive since there’s a lot more people & pretty much big cities. Then there are some that are relatively cheaper because the locations are in the far outskirts, away from big cities. Hahaha…you can always consider getting your foot into hotel management first (ie. Fairmont has great management training programs). 😉 Then, you start networking & building your own kingdom! XD

      Liked by 1 person

      • One of the dramas is Six Flying Dragons, which I’ve already written about. The other is an older drama I’m in two minds about.

        Yesterday’s housewives aren’t exactly the same people as today’s housewives, and today’s housewives won’t be quite the same as tomorrow’s housewives. As education levels rise, tastes may change. Maybe it’s entirely to the TV executives’ advantage to start wooing a more diverse audience early. 😀

        I’ve not watched HK dramas for a long time, but they certainly used to have clever plots and very convincing romances.

        Like

Leave a Reply

