Nostalgia

Remember this post in which I was trying to reconnect with That Kawaii Friend?  Well, I still haven’t completely reconnect with her yet, but I have finally met with Miss Professor (one of the many awesome friends that I’ve been trying to reconnect with) today.

As I was on my way to meet up with her, a lot of scenes from my carefree (but dirt-poor…haha, still dirt-poor) school days flashed through my mind.  A bitter-sweetness plucked my heart because everything just seemed so different after graduation.  Some people are overwhelmed with work, some are obsessed with the definition of a high life, some are busy chasing after their dreams, some are tied down by family, and some are still figuring out their direction in life.  With all these complicated situations going on, sometimes it can be difficult to not question the intention of the person who is initiating the reconnection as something less than pure rekindle of friendship.  Well, I supposed it didn’t help with the fact that I was a business major.

Out of all the friends that I’ve been trying to reconnect with recently, Miss Professor was one of the few who had gracefully accepted my sudden timing for reconnection.  I want to thank her for going along with my randomness. 😛  Most importantly, I want to thank her for still being that sincere, warm, and friendly gal that I have always remembered her as.  It has certainly made that bitter-sweetness of nostalgia less bitter.

The nostalgia was particularly strong since we decided to meet at SFU, the university that I graduated from.

The nostalgia was particularly strong since we decided to meet at SFU, the university that I graduated from.  Looking at the buildings, it reminded me the time when one of my teaching assistant (TA) was telling the class that the SFU buildings looked like a prison.  Whenever students walked outside, it looked like inmates coming out of their cells for exercise.  XD

Why did I take this photo? Because there were a couple of geese...but I was far too lazy to walk over take any decent pictures.

Why did I take this photo? Because there were a couple of pretty geese near the corner of the pond…but I was far too lazy to walk over to take a decent photo of them.

The reflection of sunlight against the wall. THIS IS ART!! lol XD

The reflection of sunlight against the wall in the AQ area. THIS IS ART!! lol XD

After Miss Professor left for work, I decided to pretend that I was a student and hogged one of the study spaces to write....to be precise, to finish one of my fanfics. XD

After Miss Professor left for work, I decided to pretend that I was a student and hogged one of the study spaces to write….to be precise, to finish one of my fanfics. XD

Mind as well reliving my school days with my signature cat pose. Yup, I was one of those dreadful photo-bomber back in the days.

Mind as well reliving my school days with my signature cat pose. Yup, I was one of those dreadful photo-bombers back in the days.  And sorry, I kinda got distracted from writing yet again.

A picture worth a thousand words...Behold! My awkward, weird personality back in the days. I thank all of my friends (past, present, and future) who have been very patience in putting up with me. Since then, I have matured a lot (still a big kid at heart though).

A picture worth a thousand words…Behold! My awkward and weird personality back in the days (of course, I am just trying to enact my past behaviour here).  Since then, I have matured a lot (still a big kid at heart though).  I thank all of my friends (past, present, and future) who have been, are, and will be very patience in putting up with my awkwardness.  😛

2 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. “sometimes it can be difficult to not question the intention of the person who is initiating the reconnection as something less than pure rekindle of friendship”

    Ouch. Me and a friend I was reconnecting with some time ago can identify with that sentiment. Besides, people may change with time, and not necessarily in a good way. All those horror reports of reunions-turned-crimes didn’t help.

    Happy for you gals that things went well in your case! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! 🙂

      lol that’s true that people may change with time. But sometimes, maybe it’s like my friend (Miss Professor) said, “Maybe it’s just not a good time for reconnection with some people at the moment.” Every individual is unique and goes at his or her own pace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

