Iconic Songs from Chinese Horror Movies

I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat by nature and one would have to pay me a lot to even watch a horror film in a movie theatre packed with people.  However, as a determined truth-seeker, I just can’t seem to keep myself from questioning the authenticity of certain urban legends…especially, if it’s related to music.  Yes, I attest that curiosity can kill a cat (but it did not tonight).  Tonight, I will present two songs – one is supposed to be cursed and another is just iconic as f**k.

1) 夜夜痴纏 (roughly translates as “Cling to You Every Night”) sang by Connie Mak Kit Chan (aka Kitman).  This is the theme song of a ghost horror flick of the 1980s, The Occupant/The Tenant (靈氣迫人) starring Chow Yun-fat and Sally Yeh.  Despite the beautiful melody, this song was banned briefly at various radio stations from broadcasting because apparently something strange would always happen when this song was broadcast (and even goes so far to say that something paranormal would happen if someone listens to it).  Or, I believe it was just an unwritten rule amongst most (maybe just some prominent) DJs not to broadcast it, because the ban seemed too lax to be an actual ban based on my research. =/  For example, a DJ from a Toronto Chinese radio station has tried to broadcast this song before during one of her morning shows.  Right before she broadcast the song, the entire radio station encountered a mysterious black-out that lasted for several seconds (FYI, suddenly going off-air in the middle of a show is a huge deal).  Even after the black-out was over, it took the technician at least a minute and a half before he could start up the music.  Then finally, despite all their effort, the music was suddenly cut off at about the half-way point with no proper explanation (the CD was brought from the DJ’s house, so it was definitely not one of frequently used CD and all the equipments were fine as well).  If you can understand Cantonese, then you can find out about the incident straight from the DJ-in-question’s own mouth through this episode of Horror Online (恐怖在線), an internet radio show that tries to make some sense of the the paranormal world through various perspectives (ie. spiritual, scientific, and etc.).

I’ve tried to find a not-so-scary version for y’all, and I believe that I’ve succeeded (it’s not scary at all).  When I listened to this song the first time, I admitted that I did felt some chills down my spines (and it was definitely not simply because the song sounded so good that I was getting goosebumps).  Though, it could be the room temperature that suddenly dropped, because I was listening to it during the early evening after all.  However, it did felt like a gust of gentle wind suddenly hovered over me and just decided to station there without dispelling anytime soon.  Of course, it could simply be a self-hypnosis kind of thing, especially when I was expecting something extraordinary to happen.  Wanting to make sure that it was only a coincidence.  I decided to listen to it again after a couple of hours later…and you know what I’ve found?  It was a coincidence after all.  At least with me anyways.  My verdict is that this is one lovely song.

2) 等著你回来 (roughly translates as “Waiting for You to Come Back”) sang by 白光 (White Light…it’s a stage name, obviously), a beautiful songstress of the 1940s.  Originally, this was just a jazz song that can be sang at any of those high class night clubs of the 1940s.  However, when the horror film trend took over Hong Kong during the 1980s and early part of the 1990s, this song suddenly served as a popular background song in various horror films and TV shows.  Serving as a background music in horror flicks, it is often remixed a bit to bring out the chills and paranoia in people.  Particularly, this song would be a vengeful female ghost’s signature song…when it started playing, the living characters of the story better start escaping from the place as fast as they can.  XD

Here’s the original version of the song…of course, the music video is relatively new.  Anyways, as this is the original version of the song, one should not be feeling too much chills and paranoia.

5 thoughts on “Iconic Songs from Chinese Horror Movies

  1. I don’t usually like to watch horror movies, not because I’m scared, it’s because I find most of the very absurd. But of course, there are others that have great stories as well.

    By the way, the complete quote is “Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • lol I agree that most are very absurd…if we’re talking about Hong Kong, then I think the Chinese Zombies horror/action flicks of the 1980s and 1990s were completely nonsensical. XD

      Hey, thanks for reminding me the complete quote! It’s quite comforting knowing the cat can never truly die (if it can be easily satisfied that is). XD

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m a bit hesitated on this one because I don’t recall that this song has much presence in horror films. Did a bit research on it as well, and I don’t think there’s much scary connection with this song as well. However, it does have the potential to bring that peculiar scary vibe in a horror movie (vengeful female ghost style, similar to 等著你回来). Though, in a way, I can say the same thing about 被遗忘的时光 (kinda know as the theme song for Infernal Affairs). Maybe it’s because it got that 1930s & 1940s feeling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

