Ingress Training & Food Meet with the Great Food Critic

The following post is another one of my whimsical mixed posts (food and game “review”), so readers’ discretion is advised. 😀

Recently, I got introduced to the game, Ingress, by Food Critic that ultimately confused the heck out of my mind for the past several days.  Thus, I was left with no choice but almost “pleaded” Food Critic for help to get me started (and thank goodness she has time today ^^).  Apparently, this game is essentially one that blends the virtual world and our reality with Google map technology.  There’s a whole epic story that comes along with this game with two opposing forces – the Enlightened and the Resistance.  However, it is basically a “get-to-know your local community” walking game (*Edit: Food Critic kindly corrected me and mentioned that this game is much more higher and bigger scale than a “local community” game…Well, I’m sorry for my level 2 noob ignorance @___@).

The logo of the game, Ingress. With Food Critic's help today, I have successfully levelled up in the game. So woohoo!

The logo of the game, Ingress. With Food Critic’s help today, I have successfully levelled up in the game. So woohoo!

Thanks to Food Critic, I'm now at level two. XD

Thanks to Food Critic, I’m now at level two. XD

Food Critic…as a foodie, a proper food meet is never doubted. ^^”  This time, we’ve went to Jackalope’s Neighbourhood Dive, which according to Food Critic’s memory is in business since about 1.5 years ago.  It sells southern comfort food (and hence, I tag it under comfort food).  However, I would recommend take-out if you can’t stand metal rock and borderline screamo music.

I ordered the Skillet Fried Chicken, which I have nothing to nitpick about because everything's great from the taste to the texture (crispy outer layer and juicy, tender meat right beneath). However, Food Critic mentioned that the last time she and her other friend ordered this, it was so spicy that her friend could not even finish the dish. Perhaps, the chef has toned it down since then, because I've found it only very mildly spicy that makes it tantalizing for its audience...a legit opinion from me, given the fact that I do particularly take spicy well at times (at least not the kind of spicy from Richmond! @___@)

I ordered the Skillet Fried Chicken, which I have nothing to nitpick about because everything’s great from the taste to the texture (crispy outer layer and juicy, tender meat right beneath). However, Food Critic mentioned that the last time she and one of her friends ordered this, it was so spicy that her friend couldn’t even finish the dish. Perhaps, the chef has toned it down since then, because I’ve found it only very mildly spicy that makes it tantalizing for its audience…a legit opinion from me, given the fact that I do not particularly take spicy well at times (at least not the kind of spicy from Richmond! @___@).  Oh yes, new phone and much better picture quality. 😀

Food Critic ordered the Beef Brisket and apparently a whiskey drink at the recommendation of her coworker (to kill the germs in her throat).

Food Critic ordered the Beef Brisket and apparently a whiskey drink at the recommendation of her coworker (to kill the germs in her throat).  She mentioned something along the line that “broccoli makes me happy”, so I take it that the food is good.

I also ordered the Dark'n'Stormy, which is a bubbly soda like drink with very strong, refreshing ginger taste. Unfortunately, I can't taste the beer all that much...maybe just a bit of beer bitterness.

I also ordered the Dark’n’Stormy, which is a bubbly soda-like drink with a very strong, refreshing ginger taste. Unfortunately, I can’t taste the beer all that much…maybe just a bit of beer bitterness.

Then, to end off our regular food meet, we unwittingly both ordered the exact same thing - the Strawberry Sundae with strawberry sauce.

Then, to end off our regular food meet, we both unwittingly ordered the exact same thing at Glenburn Soda Fountain & Confectionery – the Strawberry Sundae with strawberry sauce.

I'm not sure why Food Critic ordered the strawberry favour (except that she likes the taste), but strawberry ice cream, in particularly, provokes a sentimental childhood memory in me. :) So no, Food Critic, fyi, I'm not a copy cat. @____@

I’m not sure why Food Critic ordered the strawberry favour (except that she likes the taste), but strawberry ice cream, in particularly, provokes a sentimental childhood memory in me. 🙂 So no, Food Critic, fyi, I’m not a copy cat. @____@

Leave a Reply

