Edible Candy Kits

During my last outing with Food Critic, I brought a couple of edible DIY candy kits from Daiso…purely out of curiosity again. @___@  Hahaha…I better get a job offer soon or else, I’ll be eating dirt.

This is the "Tsukuro Cebento" candy kit. Apparently, the price for this candy kit varies depending on which floor you are on at Aberdeen Centre. It costs $5 at Daiso. At another store that's one floor up, it costs about $6. At H-Mart (main floor), it costs $7. @___@ Thanks, Food Critic, for the great observation! ^^

This is the “Tsukuro Cebento” candy kit. Apparently, the price for this candy kit varies depending on which floor you are on at Aberdeen Centre. It costs $5 at Daiso. At another store that’s one floor up, it costs about $6. At H-Mart (main floor), it costs $7. @___@ Thanks, Food Critic, for the great observation! ^^

Instructions at the back of the box. Some packets need two scoops of water and some need only one scoop of H2O.

Instructions at the back of the box. Some packets need two scoops of water and some need only one scoop of H2O.  Watching a YouTube tutorial is highly recommended rather you know Japanese or not.

"Tandshi Osushi" candy kit. I believe this is one of the more popular Japanese candy kits out on the market.

“Tandshi Osushi” candy kit. I believe this is one of the more popular Japanese candy kits out on the market.

Instructions for the sushi kit...because I forgot most of my Japanese language skills, I ended up taking a wild guess at the amount of water I would need for each packet. >.>"

Instructions for the sushi kit…because I forgot most of my Japanese language skills, I ended up taking a wild guess at the amount of water I would need for each packet. >.>”

For those interested in buying these candy kits, here's a heads up for ya -- open up the bag (that holds the rest of the kits) carefully, because you might need it for decorations and further instructions.

For those interested in buying these candy kits, here’s a heads up for ya — open up the bag (that holds the rest of the kits) carefully, because you might need it for decorations and further instructions.

For example, you might need the bag to create a bento box to hold your candy creations.

For example, you might need the bag to create a bento box to hold your candy creations.

At first, this candy kit seemed fun because everything seemed so organized and no sticky mess.

At first, this candy kit seemed fun because everything seemed so organized and no sticky mess.

Haha...I was dead wrong. XD If I have kids, I would never buy these kind of candy kits for them because they're simply too messy.

Haha…I was dead wrong. XD If I have kids, I would never buy these kind of candy kits for them because they’re simply too messy.

......looks nothing like the picture on the box. I find it really difficult to get the panda and the onigiri (Japanese rice ball) to look right.

……looks nothing like the picture on the box. I find it really difficult to get the panda and the onigiri (Japanese rice ball) to look right.  And the broccoli looks nothing like broccoli.  T___T

The sushi kit was less messy, easier to do, and more fun overall.

The sushi kit was less messy, easier to do, and more fun overall.

A proper side view. ^^

A proper side view. ^^  Oh yea, the lighting is brighter here because I moved back to my room (instead of bothering my dear brother to look as I “perform” magic ^^” haha…)

The candies are fruity for the most part (yes, I ate them).

The candies are fruity for the most part, but the texture is a bit weird…it’s similar to marshmallow, but not quite.  Perhaps a blend between marshmallow and jelly.  Yes, I ate them. >.>

Conclusion:  It’s not as fun as 3D and jigsaw puzzles.

 

Leave a Reply

