A Tribute to the Oldies

When I was still inside my mommy dearest’s tummy, I was already accustomed to the tones and sounds of the 60s & 70s…the kind of melodies that she grew up with.  Due to such a musical influence (not that I had much of a choice because I was just a baby), I have ended up romanticizing the 60s & 70s as one of most carefree, entertaining, and romantic eras of the modern day history…and I would secretly wish that I was a teenager in that era.

While listening to these classics from the 60s and 70s, it is quite easy to see why a guy who’s able to play a guitar (especially to these songs) would have an easier time capturing his favourite girl’s attention.  For example…

guitar guy

…once upon a time, That 70s Guy totally got my attention despite of his messy hair, braces, and colour-faded T-shirt…all because he played a song from The Beatles.

If my memory served me right, Here Comes the Sun was the song That 70s Guy played.

In My Life is a song that I particularly like from The Beatles.

Elvis Presley’s original version of I Can’t Help Falling in Love with You is the no. 1 song that would stop me in my tracks.  Therefore, I pray that this song would not play whenever I should running for my life (ie. a game of tag for example).

Always on My Mind…from Mr. Elvis Presley again.

Stand by Me is not just one of my favourite movies, but the song of the same title is also one of my favourite songs.  This is also the song that has motivated me to learn the guitar.

Unchained Melody by the Righteous Brothers.

When a Man Loves a Woman by Percy Sledge.

Only You by The Platters.  This is probably the only oldie song that would make me laugh until my stomach hurts at times because of Stephen Chow’s version of A Chinese Odyssey.  Thanks, Stephen Chow.  Actually, more precisely – thanks, Mr. Law Kar-ying.

Stephen Chow and Law Kar-ying’s parody version of Only You.

Lastly, how can I forget about Mr. Paul Anka? =]  Here’s Diana for you.  Look at just how candid the music video was back then.

Put Your Head on My Shoulder by Paul Anka.  Also, another candid music video.

Leave a Reply

