The Selca Project

*August 13, 2015:  Set this post to private previously because of “reasons”.

It’s the 21st century and without a doubt, many of us could not escape from selcas (aka selfies).  Personally, I’m not much of a selfie person.  In fact, I’m not much of a camera person.  However, I do love arts and dress up pretty.  And so, I decided to start my very own selca project.  The purposes of this particular selca project are as follows:

1) To capture my youth so that I can look back at it when I’m eighty-years-old

2) To get rid of my “once-in-a-while” acting bug

3) To fool around with my Photoshop skills

4) To express my appreciation for the East-Asian dresses of the past (Cheongsam and Hanbok)

5) To brainwash people into thinking that selca is a true art form (lol joking here)

Now, without further ado, go ahead and laugh.  This is my very own selca project:

I forgot to adjust the setting of my camera, so the quality is not very good. Thus, this is the beginning of the photoshop madness. And yes, I was playing my ukulele while dressed up pretty in a Hanbok. ^^

I forgot to adjust the setting of my camera, so the quality is not very good. Thus, this is the beginning of the photoshop madness. And yes, I was playing my ukulele while dressed up pretty in a Hanbok. ^^

Hanbok and guitar. I'm using my guitar like a sword.

Hanbok and guitar. I’m using my guitar like a sword.

Selca3

The Hanbok is so pretty ^^

Here, I'm trying to imitate the number one pose of almost every South Korean idol when dressed in a Hanbok.

Here, I’m trying to imitate the number one pose of almost every South Korean idol when dressed in a Hanbok.

I wonder what my eighty years old self would think. O__o

I wonder what my eighty years old self would think. O__o

Lol, finally a normal picture. XD

Lol, finally a normal picture. XD

This is a pose that I copied from one of my favourite paintings.

This is a pose that I copied from one of my favourite paintings.

Smile! =D

Smile! =D

And so, the journey of Cheongsam (aka Qipao) begins in the make-up room...like all the big named stars of those days.

And so, the journey of Cheongsam (aka Qipao) begins in the make-up room…like all the big named stars of those days.

One pose I have learned from watching too many movies.

One pose I have learned from watching too much TV and movies.

One more full-size pose of the past starlets.

A full-size pose — imitating the past starlets.

Now, I start to get the fun about cosplay.

Now, I start to get the fun about cosplay.

And that's the end of my selca project! =D

And that’s the end of my selca project! =D  No more Photoshop madness starting with this one. The above image for comparison!

Now, this is a selca of the proper standards.

Now, this is a selca of the proper standards.

Leave a Reply

