Webtoons – Race to the Bottom

I’m pretty sure I am entering a webtoon contest and not a down-voting contest.  However, surprisingly I found that the current highest ratings happened to be 5.44 out of 10 for the LINE Webtoon Challenge League Contest (even my very grumpy brother thought it was ridiculous).  Just when I was pretty sure that people would have some integrity in them to read before voting, I was dead wrong.  As soon as my webtoon, Leo’s Debut, got a miracle 5.5 rating (thanks to my brother’s vote) and got to the highest rating column, then not even 30 seconds after my brother voted (I refreshed the page right after), someone else quickly down-voted my webtoon as if his or her life depended on it.  I wouldn’t actually care about the down-voting much if I have some sort of belief that they are, at the very least, making an attempt to read it first before deciding to down-vote.  Even though I might not be a very good artist, I am glad that this contest is mainly based on skills and only attributes 10% to popularity and rating.  I wish people would be more fair to webtoonists, because even though some of our artworks aren’t the best, we do put in our best effort and we have taken a courageous step to make our dream a reality.

All webtoons alike are there for people to enjoy, and so I'm sure most webtoonists would probably like it more if the ratings are sincere (& not turning it into a malicious weapon like now).

All webtoons alike are there for people to enjoy, and so I’m sure most webtoonists would probably like it more if the ratings are sincere (& not turning it into a malicious weapon like now).

Although I might sound like a hippy, but please love more instead of hate.  Just when I thought there was a slice of paradise in the virtual world where I could make my dream come true,  I ended up feeling as though I was back in that office again and dealing with ridiculous office politics just to survive even though work was not supposed to define my entire life.

Leave a Reply

